Run Proud.

This girl just registered for the first ever IMF Father’s Day Warrior Run on the 6th of September, at Centennial Park!

Screen Shot 2015-08-20 at 6.19.47 pm

From the website, “the Indigenous Marathon Foundation (IMF), a not-for-profit charity that uses running to drive social change, create inspirational leaders and provide life-changing opportunities for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people across the country.”

This is a fantastic organisation that helps so many people through the power of running, and this alone was enough to get me to register (having the weekend off work helped a bit too)

This will also be my first solo run, as my dad (#1 [only] running buddy will be celebrating his birthday/father’s day without his kids, on a cruise). But, I’ve got my partner and brother in tow as my cheer squad!

The run is two Sunday’s before the half marathon, so I think it’ll be the perfect warmup to the main event.

Registering for this run means I have one run every month until November when I do the Mudder! Unfortunately this year I think I might have to skip Balmain Fun Run, which I was really looking forward to, because Tough Mudder is the day before – but depending on how my fitness is closer to November, I might even just sign up for the 5k. Balmain was one of my favourite runs last year and I really don’t want to miss it!

I’m so excited for all the events I have coming up, and I’m really glad I found the Warrior Run, because having runs to look forward to means more motivation and more training and just generally more inspiration.

Happy running, folks!

Leave a comment